The History of Spanish La Liga (1929-2017)


La Liga, also known as Pimera Division, is the top professional Spanish football association and was founded in 1929. The league size is 20 teams and 484 players, from which 216 of them are foreign players (44.6%) and the average age is 27.2 years. The league is ranked by UEFA in the 1st position with 104.141 points and the total market value rise 3.65 billion euros.

The most successful clubs of La Liga are:

Real Madrid 2761 1647 552 562 5493
Barcelona FC 2761 1580 560 621 5300
Atletico Madrid 2614 1241 598 775 4321
Athletic Bilbao 2761 1208 633 920 4257
Valencia 2664 1187 616 861 4177


Real Madrid has won also the most championships (33), followed by Barcelona with 24 titles and Atletico Madrid with 10.

The most successful goal scorer of the league is Lionel Messi with 317 goals, second is Cristiano Ronaldo with 263 goals, third is Zarra with 251, fourth Hugo Sanchez with 234 goals and fifth is Raul with 228 goals. The top 5 record players is Andoni Zubizarreta at the top of the list with 622 matches, second is Raul with 550 matches, third is Eusebio Sacristan with 543 matches, forth is Francisco Buyo with 542 appearances and fifth is Manuel Sanchis with 523 matches. The most successful coaches are Javier Irureta, Joaquin Caparros and John Toshack.

The biggest victory recorded was Athletic Bilbao 12:1 Barcelona (February 8, 1931) and the game with most goals was Athletic Bilbao 9:5 Racing Santander (February 5, 1933).

The biggest stadium is Camp Nou (Barcelona) with 99.354 seats and second biggest is Santiago Bernabeu (Real Madrid) with 85.454 seats. The match with the highest number of spectators was Barcelona 0:1 Athletic Bilbao counting 120.000 spectators (December 12, 1982). On the other hand the match with the lowest attendance was Getafe 0:0 Real Valladolid reaching 1583 spectators (February 1, 2014).

Lastly, the most expensive transfer was Gareth Bale from Tottenham to Real Madrid with 101 million euros, the second most expensive was Cristiano Ronaldo from Manchester United to Real Madrid with 94 million euros, third is Neymar from Santos to Barcelona costing 88.2 million euros, the fourth was Luis Suarez from Liverpool to Barcelona with 81.72 million euros and fifth most expensive was James Rodriguez from Monaco to Real Madrid, a transfer move that cost 75 million euros.