Farewell Olympic Flame


The Olympic Flame began its long journey to the Republic of Korea for the PeyongChang 2018 Winter Olympic Games, in a solemn ceremony at the Panathenaic Stadium, in the presence of the President of the Hellenic Republic Prokopios Pavlopoulos. The President of the Hellenic Olympic Committee Spyros Capralos handed the Flame over to the President of the Organizing Committee “PyeongChang 2018” Lee Hee Beom.

The second to last Torchbearer Kim Ki-hoon, Korean Olympic champion in short track speed skating, passed the Flame to the last Torchbearer, Greek champion in skiing Yiannis Proios, who lit the cauldron, while thousands of spectators who had come to the Panathenaic Stadium cheered on him.
The ritual of the priestesses, choreographed by Artemis Ignatiou to the musical composition of Yannis Psimadas followed, while the torch with the Flame was given to Mr Capralos by the High Priestess Katerina Lehou, on her last performance as a High Priestess.