A short history of the FIFA World Cup

The 14th of June marks the 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup – the highest level of football competitions with TV audience records. Every 4 years, we get the chance to see the best football teams and players from all around the world play against each other in the ultimate event.
The first FIFA World Cup was organised by Uruguay; 88 years ago in 1930.
The first winner of the World Cup was Uruguay, who defeated Argentina 4–2.
Since then, the tournament has taken place every four years, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, due to the Second World War.
During the last 88 years some teams have made history in this competition.
Some national teams have won the World Cup several times.
Those national teams are:
– Brazil who  is the leader of the competition and won the World Cup  in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.
– Italy in 1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006
– Germany in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014
– Argentina in 1978 and 1986
– Uruguay in 1930 and 1950
Players with the most participations in the World Cup
– Antonio Carbajal (Mexico): 1950, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966
– Lothar Matthäus (Germany): 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998
– Gianluigi Buffon (Italy): 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014
– Nitol Santos (Brazil): 1950, 1954, 1958, 1962
The all time top scorer of the World Cup is the German striker Miroslav Klose with 16 goals, followed by: the Brazilian Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima with 15 goals; the German Gerd Müller with 14 goals; the French Just Fontaine with 13 goals; and the renowned Brazilian Pele with 12 goals.
Another world cup record is held by the  French striker Just Fontaine, who scored  13 goals in a single game at the World Cup held in Sweden in 1958.
The biggest team that is missing from the World Cup this year is without any doubt Italy, who didn’t manage to qualify this year. Since 1962 until 2014 Italy has been a part of the final tournaments. This year, Italy was eliminated by  Sweden in the qualification play- off. Another top national team that is missing from this year’s tournament is  Netherlands.
The FIFA World Cup groups:
A short history of the World Cup giani boldeanu football stories fifa sports marketing fox sports stories fox sports foxsportsstories foxsportsstories.com sports management sports business
The favorites to win the World Cup this year are Brazil, Germany, Spain and France but we will, of course, see some surprises.