Luka Modrić the new King at The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018


In a spectacular show that saw the elite of world football descend on London at Monday (September 24th)  , FIFA crowned the new king and queen of the sport at The Best FIFA Football Awards.

Luka Modrić and Marta took the top individual honours in the men’s and women’s game, with Modrić named The Best FIFA Men’s Player for the first time after a successful year with Real Madrid CF and Croatia, and Marta claiming The Best FIFA Women’s Player award following her achievements in the women’s game.

For the first time, there is a new name on The Best FIFA Men’s Player trophy, with Luka Modric succeeding the winner of the inaugural two awards – Cristiano Ronaldo – after a superlative 2017/18 that saw the Croatian midfield maestro reach new heights.

It has taken something outstanding to break the duopoly of Ronaldo and Lionel Messi at the pinnacle of the men’s game, and Modric’s season has undoubtedly warranted the landmark. Awarded the adidas Golden Ball at the FIFA Club World Cup before playing an integral role in Real Madrid’s third consecutive UEFA Champions League trophy, the Croatian was the metronomic lynchpin at the heart of Los Blancos midfield throughout the 2017/18 campaign.

He also starred on the international stage, playing a key role in helping his country to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ and then producing superlative performances at the finals themselves. Modric’s tireless running, key goals and outstanding leadership qualities helped guide Vatreni to the Final against France, his nation’s finest performance at the global finals

Joining them, Didier Deschamps and Reynald Pedros were unveiled as The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and Women’s Coach respectively after leading France and Olympique Lyonnais Féminin to landmark seasons.

During the ceremony, which was hosted by Idris Elba and Anne-Laure Bonnet and also included live music performances from Big Shaq and Noel Gallagher, Thibaut Courtois was named as The Best FIFA Goalkeeper, the first time he has claimed the award, after proving vital between the posts for both his club during the 2017/18 season and for Belgium at this summer’s FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

A full list of award winners for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 can be found below, along with a full breakdown of the voting results .

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Luka Modrić (29.05% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Marta (14.73% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps (30.52% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros (23.15% of total votes)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

FIFA FIFPro World11

The FIFA FIFPro World11 was also announced, with votes from over 25,000 professional players from 65 countries selecting the very best team the men’s game has to offer.

FIFA Puskás Award, FIFA Fan Award and FIFA Fair Play Award

Following a public vote  conducted on of fans from around the world, the winners of both the FIFA Puskás Award and the FIFA Fan Award were also announced.

                                        Salah Puskas Award

Mohamed Salah claimed the Puskás Award for the best goal of the season. Salah’s goal, scored for Liverpool against Everton on 10 December 2017, was selected as the top goal by fans with 38% of the vote, with Cristiano Ronaldo’s goal against Juventus voted second (22% of total votes) and Giorgian De Arrascaeta’s goal against América MG rounding out the top three (17% of total votes).

                                     FIFA Fan Award

Recognising the remarkable actions of fans from across the world, the FIFA Fan Award – also voted for by fans – was won by the fans of Peru, who received 74% of the total votes.

Peruvian fans were selected for their incredible passion, loyalty and excitement while following their national team. Sebastian Carrera (19% of total votes) and Japanese and Senegalese fans (7% of total votes) completed the top three.

                                                    Lennart Thy FIFA Fair Play Award

In a poignant moment during tonight’s star-studded ceremony, the FIFA Fair Play Award was presented to German striker Lennart Thy, who donated blood and took time away from football to help save the life of a leukaemia patient who matched with his DNA.