The Best FIFA Football Awards™ to introduce two new women’s football honors


When world football’s top performers convene in Milan on 23 September for The Best FIFA Football Awards, there will be two brand-new accolades up for grabs: The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper will be honoured, as will the members of the FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11.

                                                              Zvonimir Boban

“FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup this year, so I cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards. It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women’s football,” said Zvonimir Boban, FIFA’s Deputy Secretary General (Football).

The coronation of The Best of the season will be held at Milan’s historic Teatro alla Scala, where the football world will get to know the winners in 11 categories in total:

         1.    The Best FIFA Men’s Player

  1. The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  2. The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  3. The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  4. The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  5. The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper*
  6. FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11
  7. FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11*
  8. The FIFA Puskás Award
  9. The FIFA Fair Play Award
  10. The FIFA Fan Award

* Awarded for the first time