Ronaldo vs. Messi and Van Dijk


FIFA has revealed the candidates shortlisted for four of the individual trophies that will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan on 23 September 2019.

Two panels of experts – one for men’s football and one for the women’ s game  – named the candidates for each category.

 The nominees are listed below in alphabetical order:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus)

Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands/Ajax/Barcelona)

Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands/Ajax/Juventus)

Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea/Real Madrid)

Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur)

Sadio Mané (Senegal/Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands/Liverpool)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:*

Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais)

Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago Red Stars)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway/Wolfsburg/Barcelona)

Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)

Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Sam Kerr (Australia/Chicago Red Stars/Perth Glory)

Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington Spirit)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)

Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride)

Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Ellen White (England/Birmingham City/Manchester City)

* This shortlist comprises 12 names since, per article 5 of the rules of allocation , in the event of a tie, “the shortlist maybe expanded to include all nominees receiving the same number of votes as the nominee in the last position.”

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria/Algerian national team)

Didier Deschamps (France/French national team)

Marcelo Gallardo (Argentina/River Plate)

Ricardo Gareca (Argentina/Peruvian national team)

Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City)

Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool)

Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina/Tottenham Hotspur)

Fernando Santos (Portugal/Portuguese national team)

Erik ten Hag (Netherlands/Ajax)

Tite (Brazil/Brazilian national team)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

Milena Bertolini (Italy/Italian national team)

Jill Ellis (USA/USA national team)

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden/Swedish national team)

Futoshi Ikeda (Japan/Japanese U-20 national team)

Antonia “Toña” Is (Spain/Spanish U-17 national team)

Joe Montemurro (Australia/Arsenal)

Phil Neville (England/English national team)

Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Paul Riley (England/North Carolina Courage)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team)